Logging in Linux

I use Linux at my computers and I was looking for a good freeware logging software for my self. So far I tried four available in Debian / Ubuntu linux logging programs:

The xlog and klog are very decent software but the features are limited.

The TLF may be good for contesters though it has not been updated since 2006 and it may take time to get used to it – it’s DOS-style. I tried using TLF for contests but found it quite tricky to learn. It has presets for many popular contests but those are somewhat outdated as the program is not supported anymore.

The CQRLOG is probably the most advanced of the available and is now my primary logging program. It can interface with the radio (could not test this with TS-520), it shows azimute to the contact on the map + degrees, calculates and displays grayline, has dxcluster. In the meantime, this nice program is not suited for contesters or contests. This may change in the future but in the meantime it is not.

CQRLOG screenshot

CQRLOG screenshot

The coolest feature so far is the automatic sync with LOTW and eQSL.cc. It automatically uploads logs (QSOs) to both LOTW and eQSL and also retrieves confirmed QSOs. Then, I can see my progress towards WAS, WAC, DXCC, etc. and also figure out if I still need to mail QSL cards.

None of the programs support Cabrillo logs (except TLF). There are scripts available for converting ADIF to CABRILLO but I could not locate anything for linux (e.g. python or perl, etc.). So for Cabrillo log, I exported my log from CQRLOG to HTML and then copy-pasted it to OpenOffice spreadsheet. Using just a few formulas, it compiled the required Cabrillo 3.0 layout in a glance.

Unless I find a script I will probably have to write it myself. Another nice script would be convert ADIF files to Google Maps/Earth KML.

There are lots of programs (mostly non-free) available for Windows users that can do most of the above http://www.arrl.org/lotw-resources but not everyone uses Windows anymore this days.

About va3paw
Ham radio enthusiast, software developer

4 Responses to Logging in Linux

  1. Scott - KC9OCL says:

    Take a look here for a perl script to convert ADIF logs to KML. Stumbled on this just before I stumbled on your page. 🙂

    http://www.qsl.net/kf6mwa/programming.htm

  2. Paul, the ADIF format is a bit of a mess. Writing a smart parser has to assume a lot of things. ADX looks slightly better, in that you can check the structure against a fixed standard.

    There’s some Perl code here that will pull out all the fields: http://scruss.com/blog/2011/05/23/parsing-adif-with-perl/

    It’s fairly easy to make KML from an ADIF log as long as each entry has a grid square.

    • va3paw says:

      Thanks Stewart for the link. Can’t agree more on ADIF format.

      Since then, I switched to Ham Radio Deluxe which has a robust logging component in it. For contesting (Cabrillo), I find N1MM Logger to be the most convenient. Because of all that, I don’t really use Linux desktop in the shack anymore – except for server and networking applications.

Leave a Reply

