ARRL Field Day 2011

I was busy during the weekend and was able to monitor 15m & 20m from my QTH on Saturday’s night during 22:00-23:00 UTC only. I used my HF portable receiver and an outdoor wire antenna stretched along the fence.

I noticed an extremely high level of static noise (some sort of impulse noise across the band and strong AM modulation on certain frequencies; plasma TVs?). As a result I had to discard the external antenna and use the telescopic one at the receiver. The CW reception was quite decent but the SSB reception was very poor. I did not try digital modes this time due to lack of time.

Due to the strong noise and attenuation, I could only receive the strongest signals (the ‘kilowatters’):

20m:
VE3ZM
A2MW
KB2BSA – there was a big pile up but I could not hear most of the
other parties well

15m:
K9SH – big pile up

The contacts were very short (well, it was a contest after all, right?) and a bit boring because I could not hear other parties well neither I could jump on the band wagon. The signal was fading very often thus making reception even more difficult.

After I moved on to VHF/UHF bands, I came across an active VHF echolink repeater (441.950MHz @ VA3XFT ?) which was re-transmitting a field day ham net from beautiful California which I then monitored for some time. The net was operated by Suzi WA6DKS and had many operators connecting from many different states using either VHF/UHF echolink repeaters or just plain echolink.

About va3paw
Ham radio enthusiast, software developer

Leave a Reply

